How to Make My Facebook Private?

Spread the love

How to Make My Facebook Private?: Facebook is an excellent tool to talk to old friends, family and anyone else. But that digital freedom can come at a price: Your Privacy. Fortunately, there are ways to confirm only the people who want to see your Facebook profile – if your password is not known to anyone.

The process of making your Facebook private is very painless when you are familiar with the increasingly bloated user interface. So where do you start? Read the below tutorial on “Make Facebook Private” carefully.

You may also like: How to Download YouTube Videos?: Full Tutorial

1. Privacy Shortcuts

There are two easy ways to get the relevant privacy settings of your Facebook profile. In the upper right, you will see a button to the right of your name – it has a padlock and three horizontal lines. Tap it, and then select ‘See more settings’ at the bottom.

Alternatively, you can click on the small Cog Settings button next to the Privacy Shortcodes button above, and then select “Settings” from the drop-down menu. The result is the same in both cases. Now you can start building your privacy.

2. Who can See my Stuff?

Under the heading Privacy Settings and Tools, you will see three bold questions: “Who can see my stuff?”, “Who can contact me?” And “Who can see me?”. We’ll start with the first title on the list.

“Who can see your future posts?” Click the Edit button on the right. Now choose which of your future Facebook posts you want to see from the drop-down. The public is contrary to private (naturally), so if you only want to see Facebook friends, set it to “Friends”.

You may also like: What is JPEG and Why should JPEG be Used?

Alternatively, you can select “Only Me” or click “Custom” if you want to see for yourself what you have posted. Custom allows you to choose specific options, including “Do not share”, which means you can select a particular Facebook friend or friends you do not want to share the post with. You can also block listings that are part of you, such as the school network.

If you have a post that you want to limit visibility, the “Review all settings and content you posted” setting below will allow you to do so. Press the “Activity Log” button, and then you can use the Pen Edit button to delete specific entries that you do not want to share.

3. Who Can Contact Me?

If you want to stop receiving inbox messages from people who are not Facebook friends, ask, “Who can contact me?” The message-filter option can be used below. Switch from the primary filter to the strict filter, view only the messages of friends in your inbox. Doing so should keep random messages from strangers at bay.

4. Who Can See Me?

Sometimes you may want to limit who can see your Facebook profile. “Who can see me?” The group of options allows you to keep your privacy in this regard. With friends enabled, only friends can see your email address is used.

You may also like: How to Take Screenshot in Laptop or Computer?

You can specify the same option for your phone number (if you register on Facebook). Then, select the Friends option for strict privacy.

Finally, you can choose whether search engines like Bing and Google can link to your timeline. A simple tick box option is that it closes your Facebook profile from the World Wide Web. As Facebook suggests, this option may take some time to implement, so do not be alarmed if you still find yourself coming to the search engine.

5. Ultimate Privacy?

To ensure your privacy, there is always an option to leave Facebook altogether. Of course, this is a severe action, but things like online bullying can force your hand (in this case, you need support). Or you may be tired of sharing everything publicly.

Whatever your logic, click on the setting cog in the upper right, and then select Security on the left (less than usual). Below you will find some blue text that says “Deactivate your account”. Press it, and you will be prompted to give a reason to leave as well as a warning that your friends can no longer contact you. Click Confirm and you are off Facebook.

Call that friend now to celebrate your new digital freedom and go for a drink. Or enjoy your new level of Facebook privacy.

Final Thoughts

Just as Facebook was tempted to store its data, its recent track record failed to build trust. Furthermore, it means that your personal information is too much for you, so it is only appropriate that you take extra steps to protect it by strengthening your privacy.

Although Facebook’s compatibility in managing user data is questionable, it has the concept of providing users with at least updated privacy settings. Since the path to complete privacy on Facebook is only possible by deleting your account, we will go with the option of making it as safe as possible (for now).

What do you mean by Facebook’s security and privacy settings? Do you have any suggestions for protecting your privacy when using Facebook? Let us know in the comments below. Thanks for reading!


Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Next Post

How to Do Reverse Image Search?

Sat Jan 2 , 2021
Spread the loveHow to Do Reverse Image Search?: Reverse image search is a content-based image retrieval (CBIR) query technology that involves providing the CBIR system with a sample image, based on its search; If the information is retrieved, the sample image generates a search query.  In particular, the reverse image […]
How to Do Reverse Image Search?